• The National Watercolor Society is one of the oldest non-profit artist-led societies in the United States.  Our mission - encouraging innovation in watermedia through education, outreach, and exhibitions - promote the advancement of watermedia and inspire the next generation of watermedia artists.  Be sure to check out the EXHIBITIONS and VIDEO Tabs. 

Congratulations to the accepted artists for the 

2019 NWS Members Exhibition!

Exhibition Dates: April 4 - June 23, 2019

Deena Altman
Rick Anderson
Joanna Barnum
Robin Becic
Alexandra Becker-Black
Judi Betts
Matthew Bird
Sagnik Biswas
Denny Bond
Beverly Boren
Cindy Brabec- King
Barbara Brennan
Carol Brody
Patrice Cameron
Larry Cannon
Stuart Cantor
Richard Tiejun Chao
Yong Chen
Lei Chi
Janice Cipriani
Deborah Conn
Carl Dalio
Kelly Eddington
Amid el Haddad
Kathy Elliot
Andy Evansen
James Fiorentino
Ryan Fox
Janice Garrett
Jean Gill
Rachael Grimm
Kristi Grussendorf
Xi Guo
Scott Hartman
Elaine Harvey
Karen Heidler
Michael Holter
Robert Jeffery 
Bev Jozwiak
Ken Karlic

Cheang Jin Khoo
Karen Knutson
Tia Kratter
Lynne Kroll
Yan Liang
Marilyn Liedman
Feeling lin
Carolyn Lord
Ariket Mahale
Anne McCartney
Geoffrey McCormack
Dan McCrary
Mark McDermott
Maribeth McFaul
Sherry Meidell
Dean Mitchell
Susan Montague
Nancy Mysak
Woon Lam Ng
Georgios Politis
David Rankin
Max Robinson
Steve Rothert
Charles Rouse
Thomas Schaller
Doug Shoemaker
Tuva Stephens
Ron Stocke
Eileen Sudzina
Jiangang Sun
Brenda Swenson
Keiko Tanabe
Phyllis Tseng
Robert Wardle
Gale Webb
Lynn Welker
Bao Gong Zhou

Join us for the Exhibition Opening!

NWS special room rates for Apr 5 & 6, 2019

at Crown Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel   

$169/nt + tax,  includes hot buffet breakfast

You can book 3 ways:

              • by calling the Crowne Plaza reservations Desk, 310-519-8200
              • Through the booking link below;
              • Or via the website.  

Just be sure to reference the rate code to take advantage of the discounts in place.

Group code: NWS

Group Reservation Link


Artwork by Michael Tang, Paper Source Reflections Beverly Hills, 2017.

Oceanside Museum of Art & the 

National Watercolor Society Exhibition:

Southern California Inspirations, Past and Present

December 22, 2018 - April 21, 2019

Reception: February 23, 2018


704 Pier View Way, Oceanside, CA92054


The following video includes paintings from the 42 accepted artists along with past California Masters and Invitees.

This spectacular collection of watercolors explores aspects of Southern California’s distinctive cities, rural cultures, unique lifestyles, and natural beauty from each artist’s singular interpretative point of view. Work presented is by current members of the National Watercolor Society who have lived in, worked in, and been influenced by San Diego or Southern California.

NWS Members are eligible for member discounts from our Sponsors!  

Don't forget to check the Member Discounts page for new specials!

Click here for more information:

Member Discounts


Carla O'Connor, AWS, NWS

Are You In or Out?

CLICK HERE  for this 45 minute FREE talk.


Click here for Geoff McCormack - NWS Gallery Walk (Free)

Click here for a 2 for 1 Creative Bundle

featuring Geoffrey McCormack and Linda A. Doll

Join Us Today

With an exciting vision and a new appreciation for an old art form, the California Water Color Society was founded in 1920. As the country grew, painters found inspiration in the expansive western lands and were, in their way, pioneers of a new spirit.

The name of the society has changed twice since that time: first in 1967, to California National Watercolor Society; then in 1975, when the members voted to become simply the National Watercolor Society.

Online Donation goal

We welcome your donation in any amount. You may also use this link to donate to our Annual Exhibition Awards Fund.